About us

DAD sticker rond

DAD is a gallery and design shop in Berlin which specialises in contemporary Dutch Design. It was founded in 2011 by Marja Klomp and Jochem Koek.

The aim of DAD is to increase the visibility of Dutch Design in Berlin and Germany through exhibitions, events, sales presentations and interior design projects. Simultaneously, DAD offers Dutch designers a platform to present and sell their work in Berlin.

Dutch Design is characterised by an experimental approach, where the design itself is often based on the material used, the manufacturing process, or both. Tangible products are created by experimenting with the potential and limitations of materials and creative processes, often on the borderline between art and design. As a result, Dutch Design is highly original, surprising and innovative in terms of materials, production methods and colors.

DAD tends to work with young highflying designers, and is constantly on the lookout for new talent: designers are using DAD more and more as a springboard to enter the German market. Promising, talented young designers such as Lex Pott, Floris Wubben and Pepe Heykoop have already exhibited in DAD, although renowned names such as Hella Jongerius, Maarten Baas and Tejo Remy are also represented. The range includes many unique or limited-series products which were made by the designers themselves.

DAD was founded by the Dutch Berliners Marja Klomp and Jochem Koek, after they realised that Dutch Design, famous in the Netherlands, was virtually invisible and unknown in the creative powerhouse of Berlin. As a result, they decided to launch DAD in 2011, with its mission to put Dutch Design on the map in Berlin and Germany.

DAD is on the Heckmann-Höfe, a historic courtyard located between Oranienburger Strasse and Auguststrasse, home to many of Berlin’s art galleries.

 

Download Impressum

This website has been created by Cortelevante | 2016.

Über uns

DAD sticker rondDAD – gegründet 2011 von Marja Klomp und Jochem Koek – ist Galerie und Designladen zugleich, in Berlin ansässig und auf modernes Dutch Design spezialisiert.

Durch Ausstellungen, Events, Verkaufspräsentationen und Einrichtungsprojekte will DAD ein breiteres Forum für Dutch Design in Berlin und Deutschland schaffen. Außerdem bietet DAD für niederländische Designer ein Podium, auf dem sie ihre Arbeit in Berlin präsentieren und verkaufen können.

Dutch Design charakterisiert sich durch seine experimentelle Vorgehensweise. Beim Entwurf wird häufig vom Material und/oder Herstellungsverfahren ausgegangen. Durch Prüfung der (Un)möglichkeiten von Materialien und Herstellungsverfahren entsteht letztendlich ein greifbares Produkt, das häufig zwischen Kunst und Design angesiedelt ist. Das macht Dutch Design so originell, überraschend und innovativ im Hinblick auf Materialverwendung, Produktionsweise und Farbgebung.

DAD arbeitet mit oft jungen, aufsteigenden Künstlern und ist ständig auf der Suche nach neuen Talenten; Designer wissen DAD deshalb auch immer mehr als „Schaufenster“ für den deutschen Markt zu schätzen. Viel versprechende junge Talente wie Lex Pott, Floris Wubben und Pepe Heykoop haben schon bei DAD ausgestellt. Aber auch bekannte Namen wie Hella Jongerius, Maarten Baas und Tejo Romy finden Sie bei uns. Unser Sortiment enthält viele Produkte, die durch die Designer selbst als Unikate oder in limitierter Serie gefertigt werden.

DAD wurde von den niederländischen Berlinern Marja Klomp und Jochem Koek gegründet. Ihnen fiel auf, dass das in den Niederlanden berühmte Dutch Design in der kreativen Metropole Berlin nahezu unsichtbar und unbekannt war. Mit der Mission, Dutch Design in Berlin und Deutschland ein angemessenes Forum zu geben, haben sie DAD im Jahr 2011 gegründet.

DAD hat seinen Standort in den Heckmann-Höfen. Diese historischen Innenhöfe liegen zwischen der Oranienburger Straße und der Galerienstraße Auguststraße mitten in Berlin-Mitte.


Download Impressum

Diese Website wird von Cortelevante webdesign | 2015 entwickelt.